Art & Soul 2018 - Rise

924 N. Pennsylvania St. (mailing address), 1 North Illinois (actual address), Indianapolis, IN 46204

Downtown

DATES

February 17 to February 28 at 12:15 PM



Art & Soul is a month-long celebration of African-American art and artists in Indiana. All performances are free and are held at the Indianapolis Artsgarden. All start at 12:15 pm.

Over 100 new, emerging, and established African American artists will celebrate the arts during Black History Month.

This year’s theme, Rise, draws inspiration from Maya Angelou’s Still I Rise and the Afrofuturism movement and celebrates empowerment through the arts with a diverse lineup of classical and African music, storytelling, dance, and a visual arts exhibition.

Schedule:

  • Wednesday, January 31 - Jesse Hawkins, classical violinist
  • Thursday, February 1 - Kenyattá Dance Co., contemporary modern dance company
  • Friday, February 2 - Featured Artist Ryan L. Bennet, multi-dimensional storyteller
  • Saturday, February 3 - Jared Thompson & Premium Blend, hip-hop & jazz fusion group
  • Wednesday, February 7 - Griot Drum Ensemble, high energy, African drum group
  • Thursday, February 8 - Featured Artist Lauren Curry, ballet & modern dancer
  • Friday, February 9 - Brenda Williams, dynamic & vivacious jazz vocalist
  • Saturday, February 10 - Metropolitan Youth Orchestra, chamber ensemble
  • Wednesday, February 14 - George Tyler, producer, musician – R&B, soul, jazz, & gospel
  • Thursday, February 15 - Krash Krew, gospel & hip-hop dance troupe
  • Friday, February 16 - Alex Bottom, classical musician
  • Saturday, February 18 - Iibada Dance Co., children’s African dance company
  • Wednesday, February 21 - Kim Kenny, soul/jazz vocalist
  • Thursday, February 22 - Indy Jazz Men, upbeat jazz ensemble
  • Friday, February 23 - Featured Artist TOO Black, provocative spoken word poet
  • Saturday, February 24 - Asante Children’s Theatre, children’s theatre group



Weekend5 728x90

Plan Your Getaway

TO